Scenic Spots Information
25089
Wenshi Academy is the only academy remaining from ancient times and also the oldest school in Penghu. It was established in the 31st year of Qianlong's reign (1766) and subsequently damaged during the Sino-French War.
In the early Japanese colonial rule, a field hospital was set up in Wenshi Academy, and after the hospital was removed, the Academy was rebuilt and transformed into the Confucius Temple.
Wenshi Academy is located by the Penghu Living Museum in Xinsheng Road, Magong City today, and is the birthplace of education in Penghu. Since Penghu abounds with aragonite, it is also named Aragonite Academy.
Initially, the academy was dedicated to Lord Kuixing, and thus, it is also called “Kuixing Building”. Then, it was renovated several times. In 1895, to protect the remaining Chinese culture, the locals
transformed Wenshi Academy into a temple. The Penghu County Government budgeted for changing the style of the building to the current one in 1999, and hence it is also known as “Confucius Temple”.
Once entering the gate to Wenshi Academy, we can see stone tablets erected beside the wall. They were built to appreciate the contributions of Shi Lang to Taiwan. However, the inscriptions on the tablets were rubbed out. Wenshi Academy features the traditional architecture in the Qing Dynasty and is a typical Chinese-style two-story temple. In Wenshi Academy, there are Dacheng Hall, East and West Corridors, Dacheng Gate, Lingxing Gate and Chongsheng Shrine. These buildings demonstrate the distinctive characteristics of traditional architecture.
【Recommended stay time】 1 hour